Dualing Tailgates

Posted: May 16, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I took a couple of pictures of both Wagons next to eachother last week. I felt a photograph was needed to contrast between the 2 wagons sitting side by side.

The parts wagon was supposed to get picked up by a scrapper this weekend, but he never showed.  So I will arrange for another scrapper to come and take Rusty away.  I don’t mind, but I would like the parking space on the concrete pad for the new wagon.  By the way, my wife has given my new wagon a name.   She says he looks like a “Wilson”.  How she came to that name, I have no clue but she has referred to him as Wilson a couple of times now and I kind of like it.  It’s Respectable, and dignified.  So “Wilson” it is.

Comments
  1. Fidget says:

    I’ve been following your adventures for a while now. I have a 58 Fairlane, so I find all of this to be very close to home! I see Wilson has back up lights, so I’m guessing he came from the factory with some other goodies? Auxilary heater? Overdrive? Power anything? Flux capacitor?? Are you going to strip Rusty of her chrome before she goes off to the big crusher in the sky?? The reason why I ask is because I know how hard it was to find parts for mine. When ever I came across anything salvageable, I grabbed onto it. It took several sets of the chrome taillight surrounds before I was able to put together a set that didn’t have rust thru. Keep up the good work!!

  2. ranchwagon says:

    Thanks For following along and for the Kind words Fidget.

    Rusty the parts wagon was hauled off yesterday to be crushed. I had completely stripped him of all usable parts. The last item I struggled with was the rear bumper, because somebody in the past had bolted a hitch to it and the nuts on the bolts had been welded together! With a die grinder and alot of patience I finally got it off.

    It is hard to find ’58 parts, so I totally agree about salvaging as much as a person can when they have the chance. What body style of ’58 Ford do you have?

    • Fidget says:

      I once came across a Del Rio wagon. At the time I didn’t have a clue what it was so I didn’t get it. Still kicking myself for that today. I have a 2 door, no post. It started life as a Town Victoria Tudor, so it has the big scallop shaped trim on the sides. I know you’re on the HAMB, there’s a bunch of pics of it under my name. If you ever need anything for it, let me know. I don’t have much big stuff laying around anymore, but I do have lots of little stuff.

  3. kirkus says:

    I too bought a parts wagon, so now my attic is full of spare windshield, and dash, and backlight….. my orginal purchase didnt even have headilner bows!

    Kirkus

    http://kirkusblog.com/2011/06/02/das-bike-projekt-final-little-details/

    • ranchwagon says:

      I’ve never regretted having a parts car. They pay for themselves very quickly. The problem is storing them, unless you have a large property. I had a guy the other day needing some wagon parts for his ’58, and was able to help.

Leave a Reply

